Skip to Content

What do the 7 chakras symbolize?

What do the 7 chakras symbolize?

Chakras are energy centers in the body that correspond to specific organs, emotions, and aspects of consciousness. According to ancient Hindu and Buddhist traditions, there are seven main chakras located along the spine, starting at the base of the spine and ending at the crown of the head. Each chakra is associated with a color, mantra, symbol, and element. Understanding what the seven chakras represent provides insight into how to balance the body and mind for optimal health and wellbeing.

Root Chakra

The root chakra, known in Sanskrit as Muladhara, is located at the base of the spine. It represents the foundation for the other chakras and is associated with feeling grounded and secure. When the root chakra is out of balance, we may experience anxiety, restlessness, or feel disconnected. The root chakra color is red, and it is represented by the symbol of a lotus flower with four petals.

The root chakra governs the adrenal glands, spine, legs, feet, and male reproductive organs. It’s associated with the element of earth and focuses on issues of survival, safety, and self-preservation. Some keywords associated with a balanced root chakra include stability, routine, health, finances, home, grounding, family, and basic needs.

Sacral Chakra

The sacral chakra, or Svadhisthana in Sanskrit, is located below the navel in the pelvic area. It’s associated with pleasure, sexuality, creativity, emotions, relationships, and sensuality. When balanced, the sacral chakra allows us to experience the full spectrum of human emotions with an open heart. Imbalances manifest as emotional instability, intimacy issues, or creative blocks.

The sacral chakra color is orange. Its symbol is a lotus with six petals. The sacral chakra governs the reproductive system, urinary system, and lumbar plexus. It’s associated with the element of water and relates to pleasure, enjoyment, movement, emotional expression, and connection in relationships.

Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus chakra, or Manipura in Sanskrit, is located above the navel in the upper abdomen. It represents personal power, self-worth, self-confidence, and self-esteem. When the solar plexus is balanced, we feel capable, productive, and in control of our lives. Imbalances can manifest as low self-esteem, indecision, or feelings of powerlessness.

The solar plexus chakra color is yellow. Its symbol is a lotus flower with ten petals. The solar plexus governs the stomach, pancreas, liver, gallbladder, and digestive system. It’s associated with the element of fire and relates to issues of power, control, freedom, purpose, and being able to affect change in one’s life.

Heart Chakra

The heart chakra, or Anahata in Sanskrit, is located in the center of the chest. It represents love, compassion, forgiveness, service to others, balance, and connection. A balanced heart chakra allows us to give and receive love freely, empathize with others, and feel peace within ourselves. Imbalances include co-dependency, poor boundaries, lack of self-love, and holding grudges.

The heart chakra color is green or pink. Its symbol is a lotus flower with twelve petals. The heart chakra governs the heart, blood circulation, thymus gland, breasts, and lungs. It’s associated with the element of air and relates to healing, cleansing, devotion, nurturing, hope, and relationships.

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra, or Vishuddha in Sanskrit, is located in the throat and neck region. It represents communication, creativity, and self-expression. When balanced, the throat chakra allows us to express our truth clearly, confidently, and compassionately. Imbalances include overthinking, poor listening, fear of speaking up, and dishonesty.

The throat chakra color is sky blue or turquoise. Its symbol is a lotus flower with sixteen petals. The throat chakra governs the thyroid, parathyroid, jaw, neck, mouth, and vocal cords. It’s associated with the element of ether or space and relates to speaking, listening, self-expression, decision making, and manifesting.

Third Eye Chakra

The third eye chakra, or Ajna in Sanskrit, is located in the center of the forehead between the eyebrows. It represents wisdom, intuition, imagination, and the ability to think and perceive beyond the physical senses. When balanced, the third eye allows for clairvoyance, insight, focus, and peace of mind. Imbalances include poor concentration, mental confusion, and disconnection from inner guidance.

The third eye chakra color is indigo or deep blue. Its symbol is a lotus flower with two large petals. The third eye governs the pituitary gland, eyes, head, and lower part of the brain. It’s associated with the element of light and relates to intuition, imagination, dreams, wisdom, and clear seeing.

Crown Chakra

The crown chakra, known in Sanskrit as Sahasrara, is located at the very top of the head or slightly above it. It represents spiritual connection, devotion, presence, and higher consciousness. A balanced crown chakra allows feelings of unity with all beings, trust in the divine, and serenity. Imbalances include apathy, skepticism, feelings of isolation, or being overly intellectual.

The crown chakra color is violet or white. It’s symbolized by a lotus flower with 1000 petals. The crown governs the cerebrum, skull, and scalp. It’s associated with the elements of thought and universal consciousness. Themes include spirituality, purpose, wisdom, bliss, humility, inspiration, and connection to divinity.

How to Balance the 7 Chakras

There are many practices that can help bring the chakras into balance. Here are some suggestions for each chakra:

Chakra Balance Practices
Root Grounding exercises, meditation, yoga, qi gong, spending time in nature, homecooked meals
Sacral Dance, creative arts, hip opening poses, water therapy, journaling, therapy
Solar Plexus Core strengthening exercise, martial arts, positive affirmations, mantras, breathwork
Heart Loving-kindness meditation, acts of service, gratitude journaling, green juice cleanse, time with loved ones
Throat Chanting, singing, public speaking practice, essential oils, neck massage, thyroid support
Third Eye Yoga, visualization exercises, dreamwork, meditation, blue light glasses, mindful media consumption
Crown Yoga, meditation, time in nature, spiritual gatherings, energy healing, service, prayer

It’s also helpful to incorporate the color, mantra, symbols, and affirmations associated with each chakra into your balancing practices. Wearing chakra healing stones can also help restore alignment and flow. Overall, bringing awareness to the state of your chakras through routine check-ins is key.


The seven chakras provide a framework for understanding human energy systems and how to attain balance of mind, body, and spirit. Each chakra corresponds to developmental and archetypal stages of life. When the chakras are aligned and energized, we experience health, purpose, and connection. Learning about the meaning of the chakras empowers us to care for ourselves holistically and access states of harmony and inner peace.