Skip to Content

Where did the 7 chakra stones come from?

Where did the 7 chakra stones come from?

The 7 chakra stones refer to crystals and gemstones associated with each of the 7 chakras or energy centers in the body according to Hindu and Buddhist traditions. Chakras are believed to be spinning wheels of energy that regulate spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical balance. Each chakra corresponds to a specific location, color, element, and gemstone. The use of chakra stones has become popular in new age healing practices as a way to calm, activate, and align the chakras. But where did the tradition of using chakra stones originate?

History of Chakras and Chakra Stones

The concept of chakras comes from ancient Hindu texts and teachings, including the Upanishads and Tantric works. The Sanskrit word “chakra” means wheel or disk. The earliest mentions of chakras describe a system of 5 or 6 chakras, but over time texts expanded this into a complex system of 7 main chakras along with many smaller chakras throughout the body.

The 7 chakras from lowest to highest are:

Chakra Location Color Element Stones
Root Base of spine Red Earth Ruby, garnet, hematite
Sacral Lower abdomen Orange Water Carnelian, citrine
Solar plexus Upper abdomen Yellow Fire Amber, citrine, tiger’s eye
Heart Center of chest Green Air Emerald, jade, rose quartz
Throat Throat Blue Sound Turquoise, lapis lazuli
Third eye Between eyebrows Indigo Light Amethyst, sapphire
Crown Top of head Violet Thought Clear quartz, diamond

The ancient Hindu texts mention meditating on specific locations in the body but do not directly reference using gemstones or crystals. However, each chakra came to be associated with a color, element, seed mantra, deity, planet, and sense organ. The color associations in particular connected each chakra with certain gemstones.

For example, the heart chakra is linked to the color green and the air element. So emeralds and jade became associated with the heart chakra as green crystals connected to air. Over time, various lists emerged recommending stones for awakening, balancing, or healing each chakra.

Chakra Stones in Traditional Ayurveda and Siddha Medicine

The use of gems and crystals for healing is rooted in India’s traditional medicinal systems of Ayurveda and Siddha. Ayurvedic texts like the Charaka Samhita describe the therapeutic uses of crystals and gemstones under the category of Ratna (Sanskrit for “gem”).

According to Ayurveda, gems carry prana or vital life force and transmit healing vibrations. Gems are classified by color, which connects them to planets, elements, doshas, deities, and parts of the body. Wearing a gemstone associated with a particular chakra or planet was believed to strengthen that part of the body and remedy imbalances.

For example, yellow sapphire was linked to Jupiter and was believed to stimulate fat metabolism and treat obesity. Red coral was tied to Mars and blood disorders. Emerald was connected to Mercury and used for skin treatments. The Siddha medicine system of Southern India expanded on gemstone therapy.

Siddha texts like the Agastya Samhita provide detailed information on gems used for rejuvenation therapy and elixir preparations called muppu. Crystal elixirs were made by soaking gems in liquids like water or oil to transfer their healing vibrations. Siddha physicians diagnosed diseases through pulse reading and prescribed specific gemstones depending on the patient’s condition.

Spread of Chakra Stones to Western Culture

Chakra stones began growing in popularity in the West starting in the mid-19th century. In 1856, American spiritualist Edwin Babbit published his book The Principles of Light and Color, which introduced the concept of colored auras reflecting health and character. He linked colors to parts of the body and suggested matching gemstone colors to heal auras.

Later in 1927, coroner William Walker Atkinson writing as Swami Panchadasi published The Chakras: A Monograph, one of the first guides to chakras for Western readers. Occultist and theosophist Leadbeater wrote a 1927 diagram depicting the 7 chakra colors, which became widely reproduced.

During the New Age movement of the 1960s-70s, interest in Eastern practices like yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda spread greatly. New Age authors like Victoria LePage and Zachary Zajdel Longo published books and articles explaining chakras and recommending crystals for each one. As chakra meditation increased, so did the use of associated gemstones.

Modern Use of Chakra Stones

Today chakra stones remain popular for energy healing, crystal therapy, chakra balancing, and meditation. Healers prescribe specific crystals based on the location, function, and color of each chakra. Wearing chakra stone jewelry, placing stones on chakras during meditation, or laying on a crystal layout can help activate and align the energy system.

Advocates believe chakra stones have the following effects depending on the chakra:

Chakra Chakra Function Effects of Stones
Root Security, survival Stabilizing, grounding
Sacral Pleasure, creativity Inspiring, sensual
Solar plexus Confidence, self-esteem Energizing, empowering
Heart Love, healing Soothing, compassion
Throat Communication, truth Expressive, balancing
Third eye Intuition, wisdom Enlightening, psychic
Crown Spirituality, unity Uplifting, transcendent

Scientific evidence for the effects of chakra stones is still preliminary. But some crystals like amethyst and citrine have shown stress-reducing benefits. The mindfulness of meditation and healing ritual may play a key role. Overall, chakra crystals remain one of the most popular tools for vitality and holistic wellbeing.


The tradition of chakra stones traces back thousands of years to the ancient Hindu texts and medicines of India. Chakra crystal healing then spread through Buddhism and Ayurveda, before becoming popularized in the West starting in the 19th century. Today chakra gemstones are central to energy medicine and holistic therapies. With foundations from this ancient wisdom, the practice of aligning the energy body with chakra stones continues to evolve and grow.