Skip to Content

What lightsaber colors are canon?

In the Star Wars universe, the color of a lightsaber blade holds great meaning. The kyber crystals that power lightsabers resonate with the Force, and the color they produce is deeply connected to the nature of the wielder. Though dozens of blade shades have appeared across Star Wars stories, only certain colors are considered canon within the current continuity.

The Traditional Colors

The most common lightsaber colors in canon are blue, green, and red. These colors date back to the original Star Wars films and represent the Jedi and Sith Orders:

  • Blue – Wielded by Jedi Guardians who focused more on combat training and physical discipline.
  • Green – Favored by Jedi Consulars who focused more on spiritual training and diplomacy.
  • Red – Utilized by the Sith due to their reliance on synthetic crystals and the dark side of the Force.

Other traditional colors like yellow, purple, and orange have also appeared, but less frequently than the core three hues. For instance, Jedi Sentinels who balanced both combat and scholarly training often used yellow or purple blades. Temple guards wielded double-bladed yellow lightsabers as well.

The Prequel Era Colors

In the prequel trilogy, viewers were introduced to a range of new lightsaber colors that reflected the Jedi Order’s wide diversity and interests. Some colors were simply a stylistic choice, while others connected to a Jedi’s skills, personality, or life experiences:

  • Silver – This extremely rare blade color was tied to a Jedi’s sense of justice and impartiality.
  • Black – Only seen in Clone Wars vision quests, this color represented a lack of connection to the Force.
  • Rainbow – Only one Jedi ever constructed an “Unstable Peacemaker” lightsaber with a shifting polychromatic blade.
  • Bronze – A neutral color embodying a balance between rational thought and trust in the Force.
  • Gold – Constructed by the Jedi Temple Battalion and those focused on security operations.

The prequels highlighted the Jedi’s penchant for customization and intimate bonds with kyber crystals. However, only blue and green were common enough to be considered canon mainstays.

The Disney Era Additions

Under Disney’s stewardship of Star Wars, new shades were added once again to reflect fresh story dynamics and themes:

  • White – Purified red crystals that represent redemption and new beginnings in the Force.
  • Red/White – Bonding with a healed crystal results in a blade split down the middle.
  • Yellow/White – When a Jedi heals their own cracked kyber crystal, thin white lines emerge.
  • Darksaber – An ancient black-bladed lightsaber powered by a unique crystal.

The healing of cracked kyber crystals became an important part of the Jedi path under Luke Skywalker’s tutelage. When paired with metaphors of healing, Hero’s Journey redemption arcs, and balance in the Force, the new blade colors nicely complemented the themes of Disney’s sequel films.

Non-Canon Colors

Over decades of expansive world-building, many lightsaber colors appeared in Star Wars stories outside of the canon continuity, such as:

  • Orange – Originally a retconned blade color for Jedi Plo Kloon in the Clone Wars multimedia project.
  • Pink – Appeared in video games, comic books, and toy lines, but never in film or television.
  • Dual-phase – Blades that transitioned between two colors due to crystal alterations.
  • Rainbow – A more articulated version of the “Unstable Peacemaker” lightsaber.
  • Black – Caused by a damaged or corrupted crystal rather than an inherent dark side nature.

These colors exist in the same quasi-canon gray area as popular Star Wars games, comics, and novels. While not officially part of continuity, they’ve been embraced by many fans as authentic expansions of the universe.

The Meaning Behind Colors

Why do kyber crystals produce colored light in the first place? And how are they imbued with the metaphysical qualities that make them such strong expressions of a wielder’s nature? The canon has yet to provide explicit explanations, but we can infer that the process involves:

  • The Force – Kyber crystals are deeply connected to the Force, resonating with its energies.
  • The Living Force – They are essentially living organisms that form bonds with wielders.
  • Bleeding – Sith use pain, rage, and corruption to stain crystals red.
  • Healing – Purifying and repairing crystals removes the dark side taint.
  • Training – A Jedi’s skills and personality shape their crystal over time.

With the Force as connective tissue, the lightsaber becomes an extension of its wielder. Kyber crystals turn the weapon into a conduit of expression and a visual marker of one’s journey through life and connection to the Force. This helps explain the prevalence of the primary three colors aligned with Jedi and Sith teachings. Other colors manifest more idiosyncratically based on a Jedi’s interests and training.


While nearly any color can appear in the vast Star Wars expanded universe, the core canon lightsaber colors are blue, green, red, purple, yellow, and orange. The prequels added unusual shades like bronze, silver, black, and rainbow to the mix, while Disney canon has established white, darksaber black, and healed crystal variations.

Additional colors exist in Star Wars stories outside of official canon, but serve to enrich the universe with their creativity. At their core, kyber crystal colors reflect a wielder’s relationship to the Force and express their training, emotions, and conflicts through symbolically resonant hues.

With more stories being told across television, games, books and comics, the array of canon colors will likely continue expanding into new shades and combinations that deepen the mythology around kyber crystals. But the original trio of blue, green and red will almost certainly remain the quintessential lightsaber colors at the heart of the saga.