Skip to Content

What are the 4 houses of Hogwarts full name?

What are the 4 houses of Hogwarts full name?

Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry is divided into four houses, each bearing the last name of its founder. The four houses are Gryffindor, Hufflepuff, Ravenclaw and Slytherin. Students are sorted into one of the houses upon arrival at Hogwarts based on their personal characteristics. The houses compete throughout the school year for the House Cup by earning and losing points based on academic performance, Quidditch matches, and student behavior. Each house has its own history, values, traits, and ghosts that give it unique character. Knowing the full names of the houses provides greater understanding of the Hogwarts houses and their origins.


Gryffindor house was founded by Godric Gryffindor. The full name is Gryffindor House. Godric Gryffindor was one of the four founders of Hogwarts along with Helga Hufflepuff, Rowena Ravenclaw and Salazar Slytherin. He was known for his bravery and determination to do what is right. The Gryffindor house values courage, bravery, nerve, chivalry and determination. The Gryffindor ghost is Nearly Headless Nick and the house colors are scarlet and gold. Notable Gryffindors include Harry Potter, Hermione Granger, and Albus Dumbledore. The Gryffindor common room is located in one of the castle’s towers.


Hufflepuff house was founded by Helga Hufflepuff. The full name is Hufflepuff House. Helga Hufflepuff believed strongly in treating all students equally and valued hard work, patience, friendship and loyalty. For that reason, Hufflepuff house values hard work, patience, justice, and loyalty above all else. The Hufflepuff ghost is the Fat Friar and the colors are yellow and black. Notable Hufflepuffs include Cedric Diggory and Nymphadora Tonks. The Hufflepuff dormitories and common room are located near the castle’s kitchens.


Ravenclaw house was founded by Rowena Ravenclaw. The full name is Ravenclaw House. Rowena Ravenclaw was known for her intelligence and creativity and wanted to create a house for those who valued learning and wisdom. Ravenclaw house therefore values intelligence, knowledge, creativity, wit and wisdom. The Ravenclaw ghost is the Grey Lady and the colors are blue and bronze. Notable Ravenclaws include Luna Lovegood and Cho Chang. The Ravenclaw common room and dormitories are located in one of the castle’s towers.


Slytherin house was founded by Salazar Slytherin. The full name is Slytherin House. Salazar Slytherin greatly valued ambition, cunning and pure wizarding blood. As a result, Slytherin house values ambition, cunning, leadership and pure wizarding ancestry. The Slytherin ghost is the Bloody Baron and the colors are green and silver. Notable Slytherins include Tom Riddle and Draco Malfoy. The Slytherin common room and dormitories are found in the Hogwarts dungeons.

Key Differences Between the Houses

House Founder Values Ghost Colors
Gryffindor Godric Gryffindor Courage, bravery, determination Nearly Headless Nick Scarlet and gold
Hufflepuff Helga Hufflepuff Hard work, patience, loyalty Fat Friar Yellow and black
Ravenclaw Rowena Ravenclaw Intelligence, creativity, wit Grey Lady Blue and bronze
Slytherin Salazar Slytherin Ambition, cunning, leadership Bloody Baron Green and silver

There are key differences between the four houses of Hogwarts in terms of their founders, associated values, house ghosts, and colors. This table summarizes the distinctions between Gryffindor, Hufflepuff, Ravenclaw and Slytherin. While each house has its own unique identity, they all come together as part of the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.


In conclusion, the four houses of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry are Gryffindor House, Hufflepuff House, Ravenclaw House and Slytherin House. Each house was founded by one of the four founders of Hogwarts and values distinct traits based on their ideals. Gryffindor values courage, Hufflepuff values hard work and loyalty, Ravenclaw values intelligence and Slytherin values ambition. The houses compete for the House Cup but ultimately are united under one school. Knowing the full names and key characteristics of the houses provides deeper insight into the Hogwarts house system.