Skip to Content

What are the 3 legendary Haki colors?

Haki is a mysterious power in the world of One Piece that allows users to utilize their spiritual energy for various purposes. There are 3 main types of Haki that characters can wield – Observation Haki, Armament Haki, and Conqueror’s Haki. These 3 Haki types are often referred to as the “3 Colors of Haki”.

Observation Haki

The first of the 3 Haki types is Observation Haki, also known as Mantra in the Sky Islands. This allows users to sense the presence of others even if they are concealed from view or too far to see naturally. With Observation Haki, users can predict their opponent’s moves shortly before they make them, thereby increasing their evasive and counter-attacking capacities.

Some key points about Observation Haki:

  • Grants users a sixth sense of the world around them
  • Allows users to detect the presence, strength, emotions, and intentions of others
  • Enables users to predict attacks
  • Useful for evasion and counter-attacking
  • Can be used to amplify sensory reception to see things from afar

In the One Piece world, Observation Haki users are considered to have some of the best reflexes and defensive abilities. It complements Armament Haki very well since the combination allows the user to better defend and then counter-attack. Some prominent Observation Haki users in the series include Sanji, Enel, Katakuri, and the priests of Skypiea.

Armament Haki

The second type of Haki is Armament Haki, also known as Busoshoku Haki. As the name suggests, this Haki grants users the ability to use their spirit life force as a layer of invisible armor around themselves. Armament Haki allows users to defend against attacks that would otherwise cause harm.

Some key details about Armament Haki:

  • Can be used to boost offense and defense
  • Coats users in an invisible armor to augment physical force
  • Necessary to hit Logia type Devil Fruit users
  • Can be used to strike others with Haki-infused attacks
  • Turns body parts black when in use

In essence, Armament Haki works like an invisible force field that can protect users from attacks that would normally injure them. It can also be projected outward as an invisible energy blast or imbued in weapons to increase their power. Armament Haki is very useful against Logia Devil Fruits since it allows the user to hit the substantial body beneath the transformed flesh.

Armament Haki users in One Piece include Luffy, Zoro, Rayleigh, Vergo, and other strong martial artists and warriors. It is a common Haki among villains and vice-admirals in the Navy as well.

Conqueror’s Haki

The third and rarest of the Haki types is Conqueror’s Haki, also known as Haoshoku Haki. Only 1 in several million people are born with the potential to wield this power. Conqueror’s Haki grants users the ability to exert their willpower over others.

Here are some key facts about Conqueror’s Haki:

  • Exceedingly rare – Only 1 in million born with it
  • Cannot be attained through training
  • Allows user to intimidate or render weak-willed people unconscious
  • Powerful users can physically knock those with weak wills unconscious
  • Sign of kingly or dominant disposition

Conqueror’s Haki is regarded as proof of an individual who possesses the qualities of a king or leader. In the series, it is shown that subjects who are notably weak willed faint in the presence of particularly powerful Haoshoku Haki users. The ability to knock out scores of individuals with a massive exertion of will demonstrates the dominance of the user over others.

Notable Conqueror’s Haki users include Luffy, Shanks, Silvers Rayleigh, Boa Hancock, Dracule Mihawk, Donquixote Doflamingo, and Kaido. Owing to its rarity and potency, Conqueror’s Haki users are considered to have the potential to become extremely powerful figures.

Haki User Levels

There are different degrees of mastery for Haki users in the One Piece world. They can be ranked as follows:

Level Description
Non-users Cannot use Haki at all
Beginners Able to activate basic Haki techniques
Adepts Have moderate mastery and control of Haki
Experts Highly skilled at using Haki in combat
Masters Extremely advanced Haki techniques and applications

In general, pirates and Marines tend to be prone to awakening their Haki abilities compared to regular civilians. This is likely owing to their greater exposure to conflict and combat scenarios where Haki is awakened due to stress or necessity. The very strongest figures in the One Piece world are almost always masters of advanced Armament and Observation Haki techniques.

Awakening Haki

For beginners who have just unlocked their ability to use Haki, there are a couple common ways to awaken it:

  • Stressful or dangerous situations – Haki typically manifests unconsciously to protect users from grave harm. Life-or-death scenarios are often triggers for initial awakening.
  • Extensive training – Dedicated practice through combat or concentration drills can coax out a person’s latent Haki abilities.
  • High fighting spirit – Having immense drive or determination to overcome challenges often leads to Haki being awakened.

Once a person has become aware of their ability to use Haki, they can work on conscious activation through training. However, only 1 in 1000 people are even capable of awakening it. And of those individuals, most never have need or desire to develop it.

Haki and Devil Fruits

Haki has intriguing relationships and interactions with Devil Fruit abilities in the One Piece world:

  • Armament Haki allows users to hit Logia Devil Fruit users solidly.
  • Kenbunshoku Haki helps users anticipate and avoid Devil Fruit techniques.
  • Conqueror’s Haki can knock out Devil Fruit ability users.
  • Rumble Ball drugs can enhance Devil Fruit mastery at cost of Haki control.
  • Seastone cuffs block both Devil Fruit powers and Haki abilities.

This highlights how Haki acts as a counterbalance to the incredible power granted by Devil Fruits. Logia users cannot simply dematerialize against Haki-infused attacks. And Haki users have an easier time dealing with troublesome Devil Fruit techniques and fighting unpredictable ability users.


In summary, Haki is an integral part of combat in the One Piece universe that brings greater depth to fights and character abilities. There are 3 main types – Observation, Armament, and Conqueror’s Haki. Each Haki has unique properties and matches up differently against Devil Fruit powers. Becoming a proficient Haki user requires extensive real combat experience and training. It is a benchmark of power for both pirates and Marines in the story. Understanding the 3 colors of Haki provides insight into the full spectrum of strength depicted in One Piece.