Skip to Content

What do the 12 petals in heart chakra mean?

What do the 12 petals in heart chakra mean?

The heart chakra, also known as Anahata, is the central chakra located at the heart region. This chakra is associated with love, compassion, devotion, tenderness and kindness. The heart chakra has 12 petals, each representing an aspect related to love and relationships. Understanding the meaning behind these 12 petals provides deeper insight into the qualities and lessons associated with the heart chakra.

Overview of the 12 Petals

The 12 petals in the heart chakra correspond to 12 qualities or aspects related to love:

Joy Generosity Humanism Benevolence
Grace Equanimity Objectivity Compassion
Humility Trust Receptivity Love

Each petal resonates with a certain frequency that influences how we give and receive love. When the petals are open and balanced, we experience unconditional love and compassion. When some petals are closed, we struggle with aspects of relationships and self-love.

Meaning of the 12 Petals

Here is a closer look at the meaning behind each of the 12 petals:


The feeling of joy comes from an open, loving heart. It brings delight in relationships and life. Blockages can cause feelings of sadness, pessimism and depression.


Generosity allows us to give freely of ourselves – our time, attention, support and gifts. Stinginess blocks the natural flow.


Seeing the inherent goodness in all people regardless of background. Prejudice and intolerance close this petal.


The desire to bring goodwill and welfare to others. Being uncaring or indifferent blocks benevolence.


Extending gentleness, courtesy and elegance in relationships. Harshness and cruelty block grace.


Maintaining calm and balance through life’s ups and downs. Too much emotional reactivity blocks equanimity.


Making fair, unbiased decisions guided by wisdom vs. emotion. Subjectivity and making judgements on partiality block this.


Feeling deep empathy for the suffering of others and desiring to help. Indifference blocks this petal.


The ability to stay grounded and not see oneself as superior to others. Arrogance blocks humility.


Feeling safe and confident in relying on others. Fear and suspicion block trust.


Openness to give and receive love unconditionally. Blocks include rejection, emotional walls.


The expansive, unconditional presence of divinity within all beings and life. Fear blocks the full flowering of this petal.

Balancing the 12 Petals

When our heart chakra is balanced, all 12 petals remain open. However, blockages can occur in any of the petals, affecting our ability to give or receive love fully.

Some common reasons for imbalances include:

– Early childhood experiences
– Trauma or loss
– Heartbreak, grief
– Fears of intimacy or abandonment
– Prejudice, anger, resentment

We can balance the petals through practices like:

– Heart chakra meditations
– Forgiveness rituals
– Embracing all emotions
– Opening to trust and vulnerability
– Radiating love outward

As the petals open, we feel greater compassion, empathy, wisdom and freedom in the heart. Our capacity for deeper connections expands.

Aligning with the Divine Aspects

Each petal also aligns us with divine qualities of the soul:

Joy Generosity Benevolence Grace
Compassion Humility Trust Receptivity
Equanimity Objectivity Humanism Love

Aligning with these higher qualities transforms selfishness into selflessness. The more we infuse our lives with divine love, the more we experience wholeness and union with all beings.


The 12 petals of the heart chakra hold profound meaning related to universal love and relationships. Gaining awareness of the qualities behind each petal provides insight into where our own blockages lie. As we open the petals through spiritual practices, we gain healing, wisdom and freedom. A balanced heart chakra allows us to embrace all of humanity with acceptance and compassion. We experience life with greater harmony by honoring the divine qualities within each petal.