Skip to Content

What determines your aura color?

What determines your aura color?

Your aura is the energetic field that surrounds your body, reflecting your thoughts, emotions, and overall state of being. While everyone has an aura, not everyone can see auras naturally. However, with practice and intention, aura reading abilities can be developed. When reading auras, the color, size, brightness, texture, and location of auras provide insight into what’s going on internally. Each aura color has a specific meaning and is influenced by a variety of factors. Read on to learn what determines your predominant aura colors.

Aura Color Meanings

There are 7 main aura colors that relate to the main chakras or energy centers in the body. Here is an overview of the main aura color meanings:

Aura Color Meaning
Red Energy, passion, aggression, impulsiveness
Orange Creativity, sociability, joy, confidence
Yellow Intellect, optimism, mental activity
Green Healing, balance, love, empathy
Blue Communication, truth, intuition, devotion
Indigo Psychic abilities, imagination, visionary
Violet Spirituality, mystical experiences, wisdom

These colors reflect spiritual, emotional, mental and physical energies. Auras can also appear as rainbow colored, white, silver, brown, black or gray. Most people tend to have 2-3 predominant aura colors.

Personality and Emotions

Your aura colors are strongly influenced by your personality traits and emotional states. Here is how some common personality types tend to manifest:

  • Extroverts often have bright, vivid auras whereas introverts tend to have fainter, more muted auras.
  • Optimistic people tend to have yellow tones while pessimistic people display more blues and grays.
  • Anger shows up as flashes of dark red while love fills the aura with pinks.
  • Creativity and playfulness appear as orange hues.
  • Intellectuals have active yellow and blue colors around the head.
  • Confident people shine with bright golden auras while shy or insecure people have paler auras.

In general, brighter, clearer aura colors indicate positive states of being while faded, cloudy colors reflect stress, fear, or negative states. Auras are constantly shifting with your moods, thoughts and activities throughout the day. Learning to observe and interpret these shifts allows deeper self-awareness.

Physical Health

The colors in your aura can reveal a lot about your physical health and energy levels. Here are some common signs:

  • Pink or red flecks indicate inflammation or areas of pain.
  • Gaps or holes may signal energy loss, illness or trauma.
  • Muddy brown or gray areas reflect toxins, pollution or sluggish organs.
  • Glowing yellow and orange tones indicate good health and vitality.
  • A balanced, full aura shows an aligned, healthy body.

Your aura responds to both chronic issues like diabetes or arthritis as well as short-term conditions like colds or injuries. Paying attention to aura health cues can support early diagnosis and treatment of emerging physical problems.

Mental and Spiritual Focus

Activities that engage your mental and spiritual self will also show up in your aura colors:

  • Bright yellow in the upper chakras suggests active intellectual pursuits.
  • Prayer and meditation fill the aura with violet and white light.
  • Making art or music brings out orange hues of creativity.
  • Doing or observing kind deeds creates rosy pink tones.
  • After exercising, the aura becomes more vibrant and expanded.

Your aura provides a summary of your energetic experiences – the thoughts you think, emotions you feel, activities you engage in. By tuning into your own aura colors, you can get an overview of your inner world.

Spiritual Development Stage

As you develop spiritually, your aura colors go through common shifts:

  • Lower stages focus on material pleasures, power or fame which shows up as dense reds and oranges.
  • The middle stage brings more yellow as intellect is energized for self-reflection.
  • Higher stages open the heart with green and pink tones of compassion.
  • In advanced stages, the aura becomes illuminated with violet, white and gold – colors of awakening.

Your aura provides a map of your spiritual journey. More evolved beings have expanded, brightly radiant auras while those still early on the path have simpler, dimmer auras.

Karmic Lessons and Soul Purpose

Your aura can also reveal soul lessons and karmic patterns from past lives:

  • Karmic burdens or struggles often appear as dark spots or weight on the aura.
  • Difficult relationships may show up as tangled cords between auras.
  • Talents developed across lifetimes shine as strong, clear colors.
  • Soul purpose is visible as spiraling energy patterns.

An experienced aura reader can provide guidance based on the karmic patterns, lessons, wounds and gifts your aura reveals from your long soul history.

Surrounding Energies and Influences

Outer effects such as environments, other people, technology, seasons and weather also influence aura colors:

  • Spending time in nature balances and clears the aura.
  • Being around toxic people can muddy or create holes in the aura.
  • Using electronics a lot often overwhelms the aura with busy, bright colors.
  • The aura becomes brighter and warmer in spring and summer months.
  • Cold or stormy weather cools aura colors and causes contraction.

Paying attention to how different environments and energy fields interact with your aura provides useful information for creating greater harmony in your life.

Chakra Imbalances

Imbalances in your chakra system directly impact your aura colors:

  • Overactive chakras create intense, dominating bands of their color.
  • Underactive chakras appear darkened or drained of color.
  • Blocked chakras may show up as dense, swirling energy.
  • Healthy, aligned chakras contribute bright, vivid streams of their color.

By reading aura colors around each chakra, energy healing practitioners can identify where to focus healing treatments and exercises.

Aura Layers

Your aura actually consists of multiple bands or layers of energy emanating out from your body. Each layer relates to specific types of information:

  • The etheric aura extends 1-2 inches and shows the physical body and health.
  • The emotional aura reaches 2-3 feet and reflects feelings and sensations.
  • The mental aura can spread 3-5 feet and represents thoughts and beliefs.
  • The spiritual aura goes out to 6 feet and shows soul qualities and awakening.
  • The cosmic aura extends infinitely and relates to divine consciousness.

Reading the aura layers gives a full picture of all that’s occurring within someone energetically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.


Your auric colors contain a wealth of valuable information about your inner and outer worlds. By learning how to tune into your own aura and understanding the meanings of different colors, you can gain deeper self-knowledge and use your aura as guidance for growth and healing. Aura readings by experienced practitioners can also provide profound insights into your energetic patterns and soul purpose.

With ongoing practice and self-observation, we can all learn to become skilled aura readers. Try meditating with the intent to see and interpret your own aura. Observe how your aura shifts in different moods, activities and environments. Get in the habit of checking in on your aura colors and using them as a guide towards greater wellbeing and self-realization.